Posted by: danielle | February 13, 2013

Zinn

Hey dPosse,

So this post is going to be a teensy little bit of a rant today.  Okay, so it might be a major rant. But I mean, come on, who can say that that isn’t their favorite part of the internet?  Really, the mutual catharsis between emitting rants and reading or watching or listening to rants is really the best around.

So here I go, ranting away like the kool kid I am.

In my American Studies class, presently we are learning about immigration in the late 1800s.  That is a very interesting topic and I enjoy learning about it.  Unfortunately, the only textbook we have in this class to read from is Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United States 1492-Present.  Now, if you have had the erm…privilege of reading Zinn’s work before, you know exactly why we can call this piece in particular a tad controversial.  (However, I must bear in mind that this is the only piece of work that I have ever read…and I fully intend to keep it that way.)  Zinn, in this book, is, to be frank and brutally offensive-which I can be because this is my blog goshdarnit and I’ll do what I want- a liberal airhead.

Sorry, sorry.

But it’s true.  Regardless of political affiliations or beliefs, Zinn’s work is immensely slanted to the more…liberal side of life.  Like, for want of a comparison, if liberal-ness in this case was attractiveness, he would be like a Channing Tatum.

mmmChanning

 

Or a Chris Hemsworth.

sexyChris

Yeah.  You get the picture.  And this I suppose is tolerable, I mean one can make a very well-argued point that a liberal slant in all social studies is very common.  And because of that, I have come to terms with this bias, and am completely cool with it, but unfortunately, that is not the only thing about Zinn’s work that makes me want to throw all of his works into Mount Doom.

Zinn has the attention span of a gnat on amphetamines.  Literally, this man cannot  speak about one topic for more than three sentences before he gets bored and decides to move a decade in either direction.  He also has the uncanny ability to name chapters so that the title of each chapter has absolutely nothing to do with the topic of the chapter.  Thank you Howard.  Really, your writing is just remarkable in its resemblance to that of a fourth-grader.

I apologize for this rant, and I especially apologize if, like one of my teachers, Zinn is the equivalent of your God and you go around showing people how he signed your copy of his book.  I am most glad you can make sense of what I cannot, and if you’d like to explain to me how I can read this book without wanting to cry, I would much appreciate it.

Again, apologies.

delle


What are your thoughts?

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

